Brats and Booze

The title may be a bit misleading. If you are looking for a blog to deal with your children after the effects of inebriation, unfortunately, your princess is in another castle.

Well, we successfully transitioned back to our regularly scheduled keto program last night. I decided to have a night consuming large quantities of cactus in liquid form and meat in tube form.

You may be asking: “Why did you not bbq/grill/immolate them? It tastes SOOO much better!” To those people, I would say it is a mixture of forgetfulness (charcoal), and having the motivation equivalent of a sloth that smoked way too much weed. So procrastination won out. I absolutely agree that brats taste better that way. Basically anything tastes better grilled, including ice cream, most likely! Last night’s fare was the Johnsonville Beer Brats, the cheddar bacon brats, and the better cheddar smoked sausages for the kids. I love the beer brats, but I found that the cheddar and bacon brats were a bit dry. Not too fond of those ones at all. The smoked sausages feel more like a snack to me, but the kids adore them.

For the side, I tried something new. I made a creamy green beans with bacon dish.

Green BeansPrep

The end result was a little oilier than I expected, but the flavor was amazing and basically everyone went back for seconds, even the 4 year old and he hates anything having to do with veggies. I am quite sure the problem was a tad too much butter mixed with the inherent oiliness of the bacon. I will post the recipe as I made it and you can tweak it as needed.

  • 4tbsp Butter
  • 3/4 – 1 cup Heavy Whipping Cream
  • 2 cans of Green Beans
  • 1/4tsp Salt
  • 1/4tsp Pepper
  • 1/4tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1/2 cup of Bacon Crumbles
  • Grated Parmesan Cheese for topping

Really simple dish. Melted the butter in a pan and then added the cream. I whipped the cream up a bit to make it a little thicker, but that was just preference. I wanted to feel manly by doing it by hand, but men be forewarned: If you have a spouse like mine, she will call into questions which activities allow you to whip for that long without your arm getting tired… just saying. I then added the rest of the ingredients (except the parmesan) and cooked on medium until it was no longer a soupy consistency. Top with parmesan, and you’re done! Super easy and lots of flavor.

For drinking, I just took shots of tequila chased by lime and salt. If you have never done this, I imagine you were probably a hermit at one time. It’s basically a mini margarita. Sometimes you just feel like keeping it simple, and that’s how I felt after having duty that day and actually having to do work. With tequila, I advise being careful not too drink too much more so that most spirits. It’s not because you may wake up naked in a petting zoo because you thought ‘Mini Naked Night Rodeo’ needed to be a thing (who hasn’t had those nights, and yes, it does need to be a thing). More the fact that you taste it so much more the next morning than any thing else. Tequila is the alcohol that people swear off the most because of taste that I have seen.

That was about it, simple food, simple drinks, and simple people for the night.

Leave a Reply

